“Vinyl” book review

20160330_092852.jpg

Oh my goodness friends. This book.Just look at the cover! Beautiful! I just finished reading it last night and I couldn’t wait until tomorrow to post a review. This was a advanced readers copy that got sent to me from the author. I seriously cannot say enough good things about this book. It’s dystopian but different. There’s so many dystopian books out there that, to me at least, it can be a little difficult to find something that is so completely different that you have nothing to compare it to. When I first started reading “Vinyl” it was a little hard to get through. Not because it wasn’t good, but because there’s a lot of terms that you have no idea what they are until you get further into the book. It was completely new so I almost had to adjust my thinking to welcome in this new world.

Plot: In this world most of the people in the community have a “singer” which is almost like a hearing aid that has “music”. But the music isn’t really music. It’s more like chaotic sound. This sound comes through when they do something wrong or think something wrong. A very controlling society. There’s a man who is called “the conductor” who is in charge. Underneath him is the man who actually creates the music, but I’m not going to talk about him much because then we would have spoilers and I don’t want that! Everything is very fast paced and dramatic. The first half is a little slower than the rest because it’s introducing you to everything and has a little bit of background. But it’s still very exciting and keeps you reading.

Characters: The main character is Ronja. She’s very headstrong, and extremely loyal to her family. She’s smart and I think that’s what leads her to certain things that happen in the book. Other main characters include Roark, Henry, Iris, and Evie. Something that I absolutely loved about these characters is that they were mature and smart. That is something that is attractive to me in a book.

My rating: 5 out of 5 stars. Whoo! I really truly enjoyed reading this book. It was well written and I just want to read it all over. There is a second book that’s being written that I just can’t wait to come out. The author as a person is just amazing as well. Friends give this book a read. I loved it! You can follow the author on Instagram to see updates and I believe the book is available on amazon and book depository.

As always thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

