“Everland” book review

Oh my gosh am I actually keeping up with my book reviews? Ha. Yes I am! It feels good to be able to write about this book right after I finished reading it.

img_20160813_190934.jpg

“Everland” written by Wendy Spinale is a retelling of the original peter pan. I got it in the owlcrate may box. The theme was steampunk which fits this book very very well. This review WILL contain spoilers so if you haven’t read this book and don’t want it to be ruined…STOP READING HERE.

THE SETTING: The story takes place in a very destroyed London. Everything happens in a combination of underground tunnels, ruined buildings, and zeppelins. While there are some presence of famous landmarks, I wish there would have been more. Then again the world has practically ended, I can see why it wasn’t a priority to talk about the landmarks.

THE CHARACTERS: All the characters are pretty much the same ones we know and love. There’s Peter Pan, Gwen (who is supposed to be Wendy), Joanna and Mikey (the two siblings), Bella (tinkerbell), and of course the lost boys. There’s also hook and Mr. smee. I didn’t really have a favorite character this time around. I did like how hook and Pete were written though. The only thing was I kinda wished that the hatred between the two of them had been stronger. I could go on and on about all the characters pros and cons but I won’t. I did enjoy reading about all of them.

THE PLOT: The time period of the book is uncertain. It could be in the future, it could be in a alternate universe, I just don’t know. Which kinda bothered me a little bit. Regardless of the time period, London has fallen under Hooks rule and a deadly virus. I DID  like this part of the story. The reason why is because in real life deadly viruses are a real thing. So I felt like the author did a great job with that because it has the ability to grab the readers attention and maybe even scare us a little bit. The virus is a very big part of the plot. I won’t ruin everything for you guys so I won’t say too much more about that. The beginning was a little slow for me but it picks up then goes really fast. There is a new character that plays a big part but we never see her and that’s Hooks mother. She’s the one that’s calling all the shots and shes the one who ruined everything. I liked how the author didn’t put too much information about her because it gives me something to look forward to in the second book. Something that really, really bugged me was the bickering about who will be saving whom. Towards the end it went back and forth so much it got a little confusing. But that was the only thing I really disliked about the plot. Everything else, I thought, was fantastic.

I’m giving this book a 3.5/5. I am excited to read the second book when it comes out and see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

