Heartless by Marissa Meyer book review

Finally I am back from a long semester in school. If you follow my bookstagram you can see what I’ve been up to for the last few months. It’s good to be back!

This cover of “Heartless” by Marissa Meyer was a special edition cover that came in the November owlcrate box. It’s so beautiful! This was a book that was already on my Christmas list so it was cool that it came in the box.

“Heartless” is focused on the red queen from Alice in Wonderland. I don’t feel like saying it’s a retelling is enough because it truly feels like it’s own story. It feels like a prequel to the original story. I loved it! I felt so special that I get to read this book. Marrisa Meyer was able to write a re telling of Alice in wonderland and have it be totally unique. It was amazing.

Characters

Of course there are a lot of characters we are already aware of. We have Catherine who is the main character. I really, really liked her character. She was strong while being feminine. And how her whole character was writen was incredibly strong as well. There was also the mad hatter and the cat. The mad hatter in this book is totally different because it’s before he goes mad. The cat is pretty crazy as usual but you find he’s closer to the queen than we ever thought. The final main character I want to talk about is somebody new. The person I’m talking about is Jest. *swoon* personally I’m a huge fan of Jest. He is one of the romantic interests of Catherine and that’s a good thing. There’s a lot to his character that I won’t mention because spoilers. The character development that we see is fantastic. You won’t even recognize the characters from the beginning of the book by the end

Summary and rating

It was so easy to get into the novel. I read it in two days and couldn’t put it down. You know a books good when you start reading another book and still think about the original one. I loved it!

5/5

4 thoughts on “Heartless by Marissa Meyer book review

Leave a Reply

