“A court of mist and fury” by Sarah J. Maas book review *spoilers*

ACOMAF

Synopsis: Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

Publication information: Kindle Edition, 626 pages.Published May 3rd 2016 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens.

First thoughts: I had been wanting to read this for forever since I read the first one. So the excitement was very high. The beginning was sad. Nothing sad happened but you know Feyre is going to a dark place. It wasn’t a happy book at the beginning. She feels trapped so the reader feels trapped as well. But it gets better!

Characters: I love all of them for different reasons. Well a few of them I dislike but those are characters nobody likes. First off all of them are strong but I’m especially proud of how strong Feyre becomes. She is wonder woman but in YA fae world form. I LOVE feyre! And it’s amazing how much her character develops by the end of the book. I was a little skeptical before starting this book because I had heard that she leaves Tamlin.  Now after reading it I understand why and fully support that decision. I would even say that I’ve learned to hate Tamlin especially after what happens at the end. Feyre is strong because of multiple reasons in this book which is fantastic. Lets talk about Rhysand. He’s amazing. Not only is he sexy both in wit and appearance, but we get to see him raise Feyre up from this dark place that she was in. He was able to set her free. I really enjoyed how their relationship grew throughout the book. I liked how they had struggles and were able to overcome them. I really felt true love from them. That’s really saying something because here’s the thing. I’ve known my husband for 10 years, we’ve been together for 7 years, and we’ve almost been married for 4 years. He’s my everything and it might be unfair but when I read a love story I automatically expect to see a familiar type of true love in that story. It’s a very high expectation and a little unfair. But Feyre’s and Rhysand’s love story met that expectation.  That’s awesome.

Ok other characters. I really liked how Rhysand was able to have female comrades in his circle and the female love interest is fine with it. It doesn’t even come up and that was really cool to me. I also liked how the other male characters in his circle were part of the story and were present. I also want to mention how well the villains were written in this book. You don’t even meet them until the end but throughout the book they still instill that very real fear in the characters and the reader.

Plot: There was a beginning, middle, and end and it all made sense. There was plot development. Which was a breathe of fresh air. The shock of seeing what Tamlin does at the end was real. I genuinely did not see that coming. I love that there was tragedy throughout the whole thing because it gives the characters purpose. Then what Feyre does at the end was crazy because you know how hard that must have been for her. And Rhysand as well. The magical elements were present too. Which is a huge part to the story. Everything flowed great and it was a pleasure to read.

End thoughts: I loved this book. It quickly became one of my favorites. Everything was good about the writing, plot, and characters. I highly recommend reading it and if you have read the first book read that.

Rating: 5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

