“Wicked lovely” by Melissa Marr book review

wicked lovely

Since I’ve been updating my blog, the way  I do my book reviews will be different as well. I’ll be including the synopsis and book details(like when it was published) from goodreads.com.

Synopsis: Rule #3: Don’t stare at invisible faeries.
Aislinn has always seen faeries. Powerful and dangerous, they walk hidden in the mortal world. Aislinn fears their cruelty – especially if they learn of her Sight – and wishes she were as blind to their presence as other teens.

Rule #2: Don’t speak to invisible faeries.
Now faeries are stalking her. One of them, Keenan, who is equal parts terrifying and alluring, is trying to talk to her, asking questions Aislinn is afraid to answer.

Rule #1: Don’t ever attract their attention.
But it’s too late. Keenan is the Summer King, who has sought his queen for nine centuries. Without her, summer itself will perish. He is determined that Aislinn will become the Summer Queen at any cost — regardless of her plans or desires.

Suddenly none of the rules that have kept Aislinn safe are working anymore, and everything is on the line: her freedom; her best friend, Seth; her life; everything.

Faery intrigue, mortal love, and the clash of ancient rules and modern expectations swirl together in Melissa Marr’s stunning twenty-first-century faery tale.

Publication details: Hardcover, 1st Edition, 328 pages. Published June 12th 2007 by HarperTeen.

First thoughts: I was really excited to read “Wicked lovely” because one of my best friends had recommended it to me. She said it compared to the ACOTAR series and that I would love it. But when I started it, it was just a little bit slow and confusing. So I went it to it with such excitement then when I started it I was a little disappointed.

Characters: I’ll start this section off by saying that I felt connected to NONE of the characters. I didn’t like hardly any of them. With the exception of the villain. Aislinn was just a little clueless and lost throughout the book. I didn’t really feel a lot of motivation or true meaning coming off her. You know she’s upset by something but it was very fuzzy. Keenan seemed kind of wimpy to me. And while all the characters are a little indecisive, Keenan was a little bit more than the rest of the characters. Then there’s Seth, who is sort of dating Aislinn? It’s very unclear on what that relationship is. I also felt like it was a little pointless and there only to create more drama and purpose for the main characters.

Plot: The story itself was ok. I think that if there were different characters and more fluidity between the different perspectives it would have been way better. The magical portion and fae world was ok. I was happy that there was a climax to the story, just because it was so slow to me, but I thought that it could have been better. I thought after everything else that happened in the novel, the antagonist would have been more difficult to beat. Or better yet not beat at all and they work harder in the next book to overcome the villain. Plot wise, it was very slow and, dare I say, boring to me.

End and overall thoughts: I didn’t like it. I feel really mean saying that but I need to be truthful. I thought it was a waste of my time. Although it was good to get another perspective on a different fae world. Between the characters and the plot and everything else it just didn’t work out for me. This was the first book I read in the month and it kind of set a somber tone for the rest of the month reading wise. I heard the next book was good so I might pick that up in the future to see if it gets better. But probably not anytime soon.

Rating: 2/5 stars

I’m so sorry if you liked this book! It was just not the book for me, but if it was for you that’s great. More reviews to come!

Leave a Reply

