June wrap up.

Well I was hoping to keep with my reviews but I was reading too fast. I got through so many books. Then for the past week I’ve had a awful migraine off and on. So here we are! Instead of posting individual reviews like I had planned, I’ll put a short description on what I thought about each book. So this will be kind of a long post. Let’s get started!

20170630_195156

I read 8 books this month! There were only 5 books that I had planned on reading so this was amazing.

The first book I read was “Daughter of the pirate king” by Tricia Levenseller. I finished it in 8 hours. It was really quick to get through. I really enjoyed that it was different that normal YA books I come across. It left off so that I am excited for the next book. The only reason why it got the rating that it did was it just wasn’t absolutely amazing. It was kind of simple and fun. Which made it a great read to start the month off with. I gave it 4/5 stars.

The second book I read was “Flame in the mist” by Renee Ahdieh. I didn’t have too high expectations for this at the beginning. ONLY because I had heard that it was a mulan retelling and I wasn’t sure how well it was going to be interpreted. But it was absolutely amazing. There’s a twist at the end which was amazing. I gave it 4/5 stars.

The third book I read was “Words in deep blue” by Cath Crowly(I think I spelled her last name wrong). There were some things that didn’t make sense in this story. Like how Henry is completely obsessed with his ex-girlfriend. He just seemed really dense to me. And it really bothered me. If he had been more open to his surroundings everything would be ok from the very beginning. I also wasn’t too fond about how it ended. But the writing was good it was just the characters that persuaded me to give the rating that I did.  I gave it a 2.5/5.

The fourth book I read was “Cleopatra confesses” by Carolyn Meyer. I’ve actually met Carolyn Meyer before and I’ve been meaning to read this book. I gave it the rating that I did because the historical accuracy is awesome. And it really made me more interested in Cleopatra’s history, which was a wonderful experience. You become so consumed in the book. I gave it a 5/5.

The fifth book I read was “Written in red” by Anne Bishop. I personally thought that at the beginning it was a little overwhelming because of how big the book is. But once I got into it I really enjoyed it! And usually I’m not too fond of werewolves in stories, but in this one it really worked.

The sixth book I read was “Caraval” by Stephanie Garber. I got through this book within a day and I LOVED it! Super fast paced and I did not expect the ending at all. You get really caught up with the story. And to me it’s even scary at some points. I can’t say enough good things about this book it was amazing! I gave it a 5/5 stars.

The seventh book I read was “Every hidden thing” by Kenneth Oppel. The concept was really interesting. And the fact that it’s a YA book involving dinosaurs was pretty unique. But how it was executed was just a little bit slow. I also wasn’t too happy with the ending. It ended too quickly and was too short. I gave it a 3/5 stars.

The eighth book I read was “Perfect ruin” by Lauren DeStefano. It was better than I thought it would be. But not the total best. I liked the uniqueness of it. I also liked how it ended so it flows smoothly into a second book. I gave it a 4/5 stars.

One thought on “June wrap up.

Leave a Reply

